Board of Directors

The Pension Rights Center is led by the many of the country’s foremost experts in retirement income security

Their advice on policy and governance issues has ensured that the Center has remained a credible and strong voice for more than four decades.

Nancy J. Altman, Chair, Chair of the PRC’s Board of Directors, is the author of the Battle for Social Security and a co-director of Social Security Works. A founding member of the National Academy of Social Insurance, she has taught pension law at the Kennedy School of Government and Harvard Law School.

Daniel I. Halperin, Vice-Chair, Vice Chair of the PRC’s Board of Directors, recently retired as Stanley S. Surrey Professor at Harvard Law School. He also held the Marin D. Ginsburg Chair in Taxation at Georgetown Law Center. He was the Deputy Assistant Secretary for Tax Policy in the Department of the Treasury during the Carter Administration.

Regina T. Jefferson, Professor of Law at the Catholic University Columbus School of Law, previously served as a Tax Law Specialist in the Employee Plans Division of the Internal Revenue Service. She is the author of numerous articles on retirement and tax policy and is a member of the Bloomber BNA Pension & Benefits Reporter Advisory Board.

Ian D. Lanoff, a sole practitioner with an employee benefits law practice, served as Department of Labor Administrator for Pension and Welfare Benefit Programs during the Carter Administration. He was also Counsel to the Senate Committee on Labor and Public Welfare and General Counsel to the United Mine Workers of American Health and Retirement Plans.

Alicia H. Munnell, Peter F. Drucker Professor in Management Science at Boston College, is the Director of the Center for Retirement Research at Boston College. She has served as a former Assistant Secretary of the Treasury for Economic Policy, Senior Vice President of the Federal Reserve Bank of Boston and Member of the President’s Council of Economic Advisors.

Radha (Rachana) Pathak, partner at Stris & Maher LLP, represents pension and welfare plan participants and beneficiaries in individual and class actions and has litigated numerous cases involving complex procedural issues in the United States Supreme Court, federal circuit courts of appeals, and federal district courts throughout the country. Radha was previously a tenured professor at Whittier Law School.

Tom Reeder, is the former Director of the Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation. Previously, he served as Senior Benefits Counsel to the Senate Finance Committee. Tom was also Benefits Tax Counsel to the Treasury Department’s Office of Tax Policy and Health Care Counsel at the IRS. Before his government service, he was a partner at a large law firm.

Robert Roach, Jr., President of the Alliance of Retired Americans, was formerly General Secretary-Treasurer of the International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers (IAMAW), and co-chair and trustee of the IAM National Pension Fund.

Debra B. Whitman, is AARP’s Executive Vice President, Policy, Strategy and International Affairs. An economist and authority on aging policy issues, she was formerly Staff Director of the Senate Aging Committee. Previously, she worked for the Congressional Research Service, the Social Security Administration, and as an adviser to Senator Edward M. Kennedy.

Former Board Members

Robert M. Ball (1914-2008), Commissioner of Social Security from 1962 to 1973 was a Member of the 1983 Commission on Social Security and the 1994 Social Security Advisory Council. Bob founded the National Academy of Social Insurance and was the author of Social Security: Today and Tomorrow as well as numerous other books and articles. Robert Ball was an Emeritus member of the PRC Board of Directors.

Lisle C. Carter (1926-2009), a former member of the President’s Commission on Pension Policy, was the first President of the University of the District of Columbia. He also served as Assistant Secretary of Health, Education and Welfare, General Counsel of the United Way of America and Vice President and Professor of Public Policy at Cornell University. Lisle Carter was an Emeritus member of the PRC Board of Directors.

Michael S. Gordon (1934 –2004) was Chairman of the Pension Rights Center’s Board for nearly two decades. In his capacity as Minority Counsel for the Senate Labor Subcommittee, he was a principal author of the private pension law, ERISA.” He was also an advisor to the Coalition for Retirement Security and the National Retiree Legislative Network.

Members of the Pension Rights Center’s Board of Directors serve in their individual capacities. Organizational affiliations are for identification purposes only.

Sign up to receive updates from us:

Do you want to stay up to date on the latest retirement news and recent happenings at PRC?

Sign up to receive emails from us:

Click here >

Support the Pension Rights Center:

In today’s challenging pension environment, our work is more important than ever. Your contribution will help make it possible for the Center to continue its crucial role as a national consumer organization committed to protecting and promoting retirement security.

Donate >